Are You A Way Side, Rock, Thorn, or Good Ground Christian?

Where does the word of God fall in your life?

During my thirty minute reading period yesterday, I was over in the Gospel According to Luke. I finally got to read and get a clear understanding of the parable of the seed being sown into good grown. The Word of God or words of the Bible are oftentimes compared to “seeds” in Christianity. It is because seeds can be sown just like the Word. They can be wasted just like the Word of God. And they can bring great increase just like the Word of God.

There are four ways the Word of God can affect us humans. In this context, there are four types of “saints” you can be depending on how you allow the Word of God to affect you. I call them WAY SIDE SEED SAINTS, ROCK SEED SAINTS, THORN SEED SAINTS, & GOOD GROUND SEED CHRISTIANS/SAINTS. When I say “saints”, I don’t mean like Catholic saints. In my church denomination, we just say saints sometimes because we’re being sanctified (I guess). Here is part of the parable Jesus taught to give US an extended analogy about how if we work the Word appropriately, it will work very well for us! Which of the following type of “seed saint” are you?

Luke 8

5A sower went out to sow his seed: and as he sowed, some fell by the way side; and it was trodden down, and the fowls of the air devoured it. 6And some fell upon a rock; and as soon as it was sprung up, it withered away, because it lacked moisture. 7And some fell among thorns; and the thorns sprang up with it, and choked it. 8And other fell on good ground, and sprang up, and bare fruit an hundredfold…

11Now the parable is this: The seed is the word of God.

12Those by the way side are they that hear; then cometh the devil, and taketh away the word out of their hearts, lest they should believe and be saved. 13They on the rock are they, which, when they hear, receive the word with joy; and these have no root, which for a while believe, and in time of temptation fall away. 14And that which fell among thorns are they, which, when they have heard, go forth, and are choked with cares and riches and pleasures of this life, and bring no fruit to perfection. 15But that on the good ground are they, which in an honest and good heart, having heard the word, keep it, and bring forth fruit with patience.

WAY SIDE SEED SAINTS

Be careful where you drop or sow your seeds. Seeds are nothing more than bits of wood or rock if they are not sown. If they are not sown to make more, then they are only good for food. The only good they did was feed birds. It was trampled underfoot just like a rock. It’s value was not not appreciated.

I’ve sat through many church services and have heard many sermons – good and bad. The bad ones I tossed out of my mind, of course. The good ones I did not fully appreciate their value. Because I was spiritually immature, as soon as I left the church, I basically let them fall by the wayside. Many of those sermons did not make it past the church doors. Others didn’t make it out of the church parking lot. I let them fall by the wayside. Or as Jesus said in verse 12, Satan will come as soon as I leave the church and put doubts in my head about truth or validity of that sermon.

For example, if I hear the Word that if I tithe and pay my offerings God will pour me out a blessing that I will not have room enough to receive, Satan will come to me and say, “Well, I don’t know how true that is. You know you owe AT&T this much money by Monday. And if you pay the church this much money this Sunday, they will cut your phone off. God may not bless you in time! Don’t pay your tithes and offering. Pay your bills! God understands!” And if I am spiritually immature, I will let the natural man become afraid of not having a cell phone and will skip out on my tithes and offering and miss my blessing and add a curse! I’d rather have no cell phone w/o the curse than to have a cell phone w/ a curse!

Malachi 3:10 – Bring ye all the tithes into the storehouse, that there may be meat in mine house, and prove me now herewith, saith the LORD of hosts, if I will not open you the windows of heaven, and pour you out a blessing, that there shall not be room enough to receive it.

Some people will say, “I’ve been to church, and I listened to what the pastor had to say. But for some reason, his words have no effect on me. Going to church is useless. I still have the same problems I had before I heard the sermon.” When people say this, they are implying that the Word does not work. They are implying that the words of the Bible have no power. They are implying that ministers of the gospel are just spitting out a collection of words that sound good, but that really have no power to produce good fruit. What they are implying couldn’t be more wrong.

We don’t say that the Word of God is true because it works; we say it works because it’s true! The Word of God is true. It is true and sure to invoke positive change in your life and produce blessings for you because the God who inspired it and the Jesus who spoke it are both very true and productive among many other positive things. The next time you hear a sermon, don’t let that seed fall by the wayside. Be careful where you drop those words that you are carrying in your heart, spirit, soul, and mind. Make sure they are safe and secure in your pocket. Don’t drop them! They can and will bring about great fruit. Don’t let them fall by the wayside!

ROCK SEED SAINTS

I’ve seen a lot of rock seed saint. They are SO crunk in the church service about the amazing sermon! They are so crunk in the parking lot about the sermon that gave them an epiphany or great encouragement. They call up a couple of friends and say, “Girl, the pastor sounded as if he was talking to me! God gave him JUST what to say to encourage me!” But as soon as the devil gives them a little challenge, that joy dissipates. In verse 13, Jesus says that they believe for a while and then fall away.

When you hear an amazing word from the Lord, you KNOW when it’s for you. You know if it struck a chord in your spirit. So why would you believe in the dark what God told you in the light? If you know that a particular scripture or bible verse encouraged you greatly, why would you discard it because the devil said or did something? That’s like receiving an A+ on a paper, and then when you get a C, you totally forget about the amazing A you just got in that class. You still have the A+ paper! The C is just a minor setback, but it’s not like you have to stay at a C.

Don’t let the devil steal your joy. If God told you something great, hold on to it! A personal example is a prophecy that someone told me. It was a beautiful prophecy about me! I was so glad about it. I was hype, and I let it give me great joy. The prophecy was by a trustworthy person, and it was on point. But as soon as something happened that made the prophecy seem not as true, I started to doubt the very words of God Himself. Prophets are simply messengers of God. So God thought enough of little ole me to use a person to speak something to me about me, and I had the audacity to doubt God! What nerve! Never doubt God. When you go through struggles that give you confusion, the only thing you need to ask yourself is, “DID GOD SAY IT?” And because He did, you can toss all confusion out. God is not a man that He should lie to you. He’s honest. Nothing He says returns to Him void (or unfulfilled). It always accomplishes that which He sends it to UNLESS YOU MESS IT UP BY LAYING IT ON A ROCK TO WITHER AWAY. What God says will occur.

Isaiah 55::11 – So shall my word be that goeth forth out of my mouth: it shall not return unto me void, but it shall accomplish that which I please, and it shall prosper in the thing whereto I sent it.

THORN SEED SAINTS

The thorn seed saint, if you ask me, are those who hear and receive and believe and work the Word of God, but who eventually get distracted with worldly things. In verse 14, Jesus says that they get distracted by money and fun times. And this leads them not to benefit as much as they could from the Word. Sometimes when the bible refers to perfection, it means maturity. We all know that fruit has to ripen in order to be considered fully mature or perfect. Perfection in this case is not referring to not having a scratch or dent in the fruit; it is referring to being fully ripened. Notice how Jesus said that they bring NO fruit to perfection. Not even one!

Many people have been Christians for decades, and yet have not brought any fruit to perfection. In verse 7, Jesus says that these seeds grow up. That’s the good news. They do grow. BUT they grow up along with thorns. These thorns are symbolic of the cares of this world. The cares can be about bills, prosperity teaching (manipulating God’s Word to make oneself prosperous), pleasing one’s flesh and satisfying one’s soulish desires, etc.

It’s scary to me how people who have been the most impactful, anointed ministers of the gospel can end up being choked out by weeds. Some of the more well-known ministers who have been entangled with the cares of this life are Juanita Bynum, Ted Haggard, Jimmy Swaggert, Jim Bakker, and many more. No one can deny their impact on the spiritual wellness of thousands of people. Their ministries were very spiritually beneficial to many saints. But despite their spiritual anointing and insight, they were all choked out. Hopefully, they will all be restored just like the disciple Peter. I believe Jim Bakker is already restored, but the other three may still need some help.

It happens more often than you think, it’s just that when you are well-known, your mistakes are not easily forgotten and are well broadcast. But sometimes BEING well-known and wealthy is what CAUSES the Saint to be choked out. Ministers are not to be concerned with prosperity. That stuff comes as a result of a close, sincere relationship with God if it is His will for you to have that type of King Solomon lifestyle. But that lifestyle is not for everyone because everyone can’t handle that lifestyle. It’s hard to remain humble and centered when you have a lot of money. Ted’s problem was not with riches and fame, but with pleasures; but he is still under the category of thorn seed.

2 Timothy 2:4 – No man that warreth entangleth himself with the affairs of this life; that he may please him who hath chosen him to be a soldier.

GOOD GROUND SEED SAINTS

Now last and certainly not least, we have the Good Ground Seed saint! Big props to you guys! You hear the good and effectual word of God. You receive it into your good, honest hearts. And you are patient enough to wait for it to grow and produce fruits in your life. In verse 8, Jesus says that those seeds bring about a hundredfold increase. Because you G.G.S. saint are so patient and good-hearted and wise, you have what it takes to bring about a huge increase in your life. You are 100x better than those who do not keep the Word in certain areas. Keep the Word! It really works! Don’t be double-minded and expect God to manifest good things in your life. God doesn’t work with wishy-washers like that. G.G.S. saint hear a word that they KNOW is for them. Then they keep that seed in their heart until it comes to pass. They don’t toss it out if it doesn’t manifest itself in 3 weeks. Anyone with two brain cells to rub together know that every seed has to have time to grow. No seed grows in two seconds! They take days and weeks to peek through the dirt. Even when you don’t see what’s going on under the soil, you have to know that it’s doing something under there. Every plant or tree that you can see above ground FIRST had to do its time under the surface. G.G.S. saints know this!

James 1:6 – But let him ask in faith, nothing wavering. For he that wavereth is like a wave of the sea driven with the wind and tossed. 7For let not that man think that he shall receive any thing of the Lord.

For example, there was certain prophecy about me that I received from a trustworthy person about two or so years ago. At the moment, I knew the word was truly from God and meant for me. Now if I was wishy-washy seeded Saint, I’d have been like, “It’s been 9 months, and I still don’t see the results of that prophecy. I know that God didn’t place a specific date on the prophecy, but still! Where are the things He promised regarding me?” But no, I kept that beautiful prophecy in my heart without doubting and wavering. I knew 100% that it would come to pass. Maybe not in the way I expected, but I knew and know of God’s 100% honesty. So at this present day, I am definitely seeing the results of the prophecy. When God promised Abraham a son in his old age, He did not do it the very day Abraham heard the promise. He did it later on. But He DID DO IT. So again, the only thing you need to ask yourself is, “DID GOD SAY IT?” If He did, all else is details. You shall receive if you faint not. Even if you have to cry sometimes, don’t drop your seed by the wayside; sow it into good ground!

Psalm 126:6 – He that goeth forth and weepeth, bearing precious seed, shall doubtless come again with rejoicing, bringing his sheaves with him.

Leave a Reply

